Google Translate Adds Five New Languages

Millions of people around the world use Google Translate, whether in a verbal conversation, or while navigating a menu or reading a webpage online. Translate learns from existing translations, which are most often found on the web.

Languages without a lot of web content have traditionally been challenging to translate, but through advancements in machine learning technology, coupled with active involvement of the Google Translate Community, Google has now added support for five languages: Kinyarwanda, Odia (Oriya), Tatar, Turkmen and Uyghur. These languages, spoken by more than 75 million people worldwide, are the first languages added to Google Translate in four years, and expand the capabilities of Google Translate to 108 languages.

Kinyarwanda is an official language of Rwanda in Africa. Odia is a language spoken in the Indian state of Odisha. Tatar is spoken by a Turkish ethnic group living primarily in Russia, Ukraine and Uzebkistan. Turkmen is spoken in Central Asia. Uyghur is spoken in Western China.

Google Translate supports both text translation and website translation for each of these languages. In addition, Translate supports virtual keyboard input for Kinyarwanda, Tatar and Uyghur.